Regions of Slovenia for Your Business. Part 1

Slovenia is a truly unique country that organically combines the geographical and cultural features of the Alps, the Mediterranean and the Central Europe regions. According to the current administrative division, the country is represented by 12 regions, each of which is attractive in its own way, including business perspectives.

Here is a map of Slovenia with a visual demonstration of all its regions. We hope that our information will be useful to you and help you choose the best location for your company and place of residence for your family.

© turkas.olya from Freepik

Let’s start from the Coastal region and head towards the Slovenian Alps.

The Coastal–Karst Region – Obalno-kraška regija. Area: 1.044 sq. km. The administrative centre is the city of Koper.

The Primorska or the Coastal-Karst region is located in the southwest of Slovenia. This is the Slovenian Adriatic coast. Salt mining and commercial fishing are developed here. The port of Koper, often called Slovenia’s sea gate, is the country’s only commercial port. Cargoes come here from the Middle East, Japan and Korea. Tourism and the service sector are the key activities in the region centred within the main coastal towns of Piran, Koper, Izola, and Portorož. The favourable climate allows the region to be actively engaged in agriculture, cultivation of olives, grapes, and citrus fruits.

The Gorizia Region – Goriška regija. Area: 2.325 sq. km. The administrative centre is the city of Nova Gorica.

The region is located on the border with Italy, in the western part of Slovenia. Nova Gorica is the region’s social and economic centre. From the side of Italy, Nova Gorica merges with the Italian city of Gorizia. Therefore, in this part of Slovenia, in addition to Slovenian, the majority of the local population historically speaks Italian. The most famous natural treasure of the region is the Soča River with its emerald waters. The region is famous for its vineyards and dry white wine of the Goriška Brda region. With the authenticity of local villages and numerous wineries with creative owners, the production of wine has been elevated here to the level of art.

The Upper Carniola Region – Gorenjska regija. Area: 2.137 sq. km. The administrative centre is the city of Kranj.

This is the Upper Carniola region in northwestern Slovenia, which borders both Italy and Austria. The city of Kranj is the capital of the region and the fourth largest city in Slovenia. It is also a large industrial centre of the country of high trade and transport significance. The region is famous for Kranjska Gora – the centre of recreation and winter sports in Slovenia. The stages of the Alpine Skiing World Cup are held here. In summer, these sport trails become the centre of Slovenian mountain biking. This region is home to the key attractions of Slovenia, such as the Triglav National Park included by UNESCO into the international network of biosphere reserves, as well as the world-famous lakes Bled and Bohinj.

The Central Slovenian Region or Central Slovenia – Osrednjeslovenska regija. Area: 2.555 sq. km. The administrative centre is the city of Ljubljana.

Central Slovenia is the most active region of Slovenia based around Ljubljana, the capital of the country. All new projects basically start here. In fact, it is the country’s global business centre. Many start-ups launched by foreign businessmen are based here. Important European transport routes cross the region. The international airport of Ljubljana-Brnik is also located here. Ljubljana is home to the University of Ljubljana, the Slovenian National Opera and Ballet Theatre, and the Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts.

The Littoral–Inner Carniola Region – Notranjska or Notranjsko-kraška regija. Area: 1.456 sq. km. The administrative centre is the city of Postojna.

The Littoral–Inner Carniola region is another karst region of Slovenia. It is located in the southeast of the country. Due to the prevailing forests, the woodworking industry and the animal husbandry are developed here. The Littoral–Inner Carniola region is quite small in its size and is the smallest in terms of population density. It is home to such sights as the famous Postojna and Škocjan caves, which are the hallmark of Slovenia, as well as the karst “pulsating” lake –Cerknica described here.

Read about the remaining 7 regions in the following article.

Which region of Slovenia have you visited before?

Avtor: AG Skupina